Auto Insurance New Jersey Financial Responsibility Laws

If you are in the process of receiving your driver license in the state of New Jersey, you must purchase auto insurance and provide proof of your insurance to the Department of Motor Vehicles if you have a vehicle registered in your name. Every state in the nation requires drivers to purchase some form of automobile insurance to protect third party drivers. Insurance laws in New Jersey differ from several other states. It is important to know what coverages state financial responsibility laws require. If you fail to carry sufficient auto insurance New Jersey you could face serious punishments and penalties including license suspension, registration suspension, fines, tickets, and jail time. Walk into the DMV prepared with the right type of insurance.

The state of New Jersey requires all drivers to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance will protect third parties and will not pay for injuries or damage that the insured suffers. Liability consists of two different coverage types: Bodily Injury and Property Damage. Each of these coverage types have specific limit requirements in the state of New Jersey.

Bodily Injury will pay for injuries suffered by a third party when you are deemed at fault for an accident up to the limits stated on the declarations page of your policy. Auto insurance New Jersey financial responsibility laws require that drivers carry no less than $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in Bodily Injury coverage. Property Damage will pay for damage to a third party vehicle. The limit stated on your policy is the maximum your policy will pay no matter how many vehicles are damaged in the accident. The state of New Jersey requires drivers to carry no less than $5000 per accident. Liability coverage can be written in a more simplified manner. The minimum liability limits are often written as follows: 15/30/5.

Unlike many states, New Jersey also requires drivers to protect themselves and their passengers with Personal Injury Protection coverage. This coverage also referred to as PIP, will pay for injuries to you and your passengers sustained in an accident up to the limits stated on the policy. The state requires policyholders to carry no less than $15,000 per person per accident in Personal Injury Protection coverage.

Although there are several other optional coverages available in an auto insurance New Jersey policy, these are the required coverage you must purchase to satisfy state mandated laws. Choosing not to carry insurance can cost you far more in the long run in fines and lawsuits. Protect yourself and abide by the law by purchasing New Jersey auto insurance right when you are licensed. With affordable coverage available from leading insurers, you do not have to break the bank to invest in protection.

Car Insurance and Medical Expenses

Car Insurance and Medical Expenses

Are you planning to purchase auto insurance? If so, you should consider the importance of having coverage that will protect you if you or someone in your vehicle becomes injured. Although every state requires drivers to carry liability insurance that will cover the medical expenses of those injured in an accident that is your fault, that doesnt mean you will be covered if the accident is your fault. Therefore, you want to make certain you have plenty of coverage to cover your medical needs as well.

Covering the Injuries of Others

Auto Insurance Medical Coverage is one form of medical coverage you will have with your car insurance policy. With this type of insurance coverage, the injuries of others involved in the car accident are covered. No matter who is at fault, your passengers and any pedestrians involved in the accident are certain to have their medical expenses covered. Having this insurance in place is important because the person who causes the accident may not have proper coverage or may not have enough coverage. With this insurance in place, you can take comfort in knowing that your medical expenses will be covered.

You might think that it is not necessary to have this coverage in place because you already have medical insurance. In many states, however, medical insurance coverage does not pay for medical expenses resulting from car accidents. In addition, your medical insurance may not provide enough coverage for your expenses. With Auto Insurance Medical Coverage in place, you can be certain you will be covered.

Covering Expenses Associated with Injuries

In most cases, Auto Insurance Medical Coverage only covers the medical expenses that you incur as the result of an accident. In some cases, expenses associated with lost wages may also be covered with this insurance coverage, but that is not necessarily the case. In order to make certain other expenses associated with injuries is covered, you will need to carry Personal Injury Protection coverage.

Personal Injury Protection coverage also helps pay for your medical expenses. Unlike Auto Insurance Medical Coverage, however, Personal Injury Protection coverage pays for other expenses associated with the injury as well. For example, lost wages are definitely covered by Personal Injury Protection coverage. In addition, you can be compensated or pain and suffering associated with the injuries. In the event of death, funeral expenses are also covered with Personal Injury Protection.

Whether your state allows injuries from car accidents to be covered by general medical insurance or not, it is always a good idea to make certain you have additional coverage through your car insurance policy. Not only will this ensure that your injuries are covered, it will also protect those people that are riding in your vehicle that may not have insurance coverage and will protect you from liability if the accident is your fault.